Committee name:  Public Policy Committee

Committee chair: Jon Alexander

Committee members: Jon Alexander, Dana Eisfeld, Kelly Nye-Lengerman, Brian Begin, Andraya Reichel, Heidi Maghan (national board member)

Committee purpose: To track and influence state (and national) policy on employment for people with disabilities.

Committee’s current strategic objectives: First, to collaborative efforts to drive systems change to better outcomes for employment of people with disabilities. Second, to continue to monitor public policy issues including rates, definitions for services, schools, and data (6790’s).

Committee name: Conference and Training Committee

Committee chair: Danielle Mahoney

Committee members: Kelly Nye-Lengerman, Kristy Howe, Danielle Mahoney, Amber Eisfeld, Christine Marble

Committee purpose: To coordinate trainings and conferences around Minnesota’s needs for employment first information

Committee’s current strategic objectives: First, to hold a state conference in Ocbober 2020. Second, to host four virtual gatherings through Zoom to build relationships with state agencies and get people throughout Minnesota informed. Lastly, attend another state’s APSE conference to get creative ideas for future Minnesota State Conferences.

Committee name:  Communications Committee

Committee chair: Andraya Reichel

Committee members: Dana Eisfeld, Andraya Reichel and  Chris Davies

Committee purpose:  The purpose of the MN APSE communications committee is to help spread the word of Employment First in the state of Minnesota. The committee also supports other state chapter committees get the word out about their ongoing activities and achievements.

Committee’s current strategic objectives: First, ongoing communications support to other chapter committees. Second, maintaining of contact data base for membership and involvment. Third, spreading the message of Employment First to a broader audience through targeted social media efforts. Forth, sharing of success stories from around the state through our “Why I Work” and “Why I Hire Series”. Fifth, sending out chapter newsletter 2 times per year. Lastly, piloting a podcast series on a quarterly basis.

Committee name: Community Engagement

Committee co-chair: Josh Dean and Larissa Beck

Committee members: Chris Davies, Ellie Wilson, Brian Begin, Kevin Marschal, Eric Ringgenberg, Nicole Rabinowitz, Evan Henspeter, Melinda Shamp, Joani Werner, Fowsia Elmi, Lauri Berner, Raini Knaeble,

Committee purpose: The purpose of the Community Engagement Committee is to be able to spread the mission of APSE and Employment 1st, provide accurate information to people about employment, engage with the community and help to be able to provide ways to get involved and actively recruit new people to join and be a part of the movement.

Committee’s current strategic objectives: First, It is the committee’s goal to be able to present and cultivate discussions through community presentations with the following groups, job seekers, businesses, schools and students, families and partnering organizations. Second, to provide accurate FAQs for businesses, people with disabilities and their families. Lastly, get people involved by building connections.